NEWS
Apple Scraps the Short Pencil Made for iPhone Duo
Apple scrapped a short iPhone Duo Pencil before production, so the foldable launches without a stylus and later takes a 155 mm USB-C pen.
Apple killed a shorter Apple Pencil for the iPhone Duo after technical problems hit just before mass production, Mark Gurman said. The foldable still goes on sale October 23, and the fallback is the existing $79 USB-C Pencil, which Apple says will arrive later this year.
That swap is the product problem. The first iPhone with a 7.6-inch inner canvas will launch without a stylus, then accept a 6.10-inch iPad pen that has nowhere to sit on a phone Apple compares to a passport.
The Hinge Pencil Never Reached the Factory
Pencil support was on the iPhone Duo roadmap from the start, Gurman wrote in his Power On newsletter on September 20. Apple had designed the book-style phone to work with a stylus and had gone further than a software flag: it built a new, smaller Pencil meant to attach to the hinge side of the Duo.
That accessory never entered mass production. Gurman said it ran into technical problems in the last stretch, so Apple scrapped it and pointed buyers at the USB-C Apple Pencil already sold for iPad. He did not name the broken part. The fault may sit in the short Pencil itself, or in the Duo’s ability to hold and charge it with magnets, and he left both doors open.
If the stylus was the weak link, a later debut is still possible. If the phone cannot charge a hinge-side Pencil, that SKU is done for this generation. Apple has not described either failure in public, and the company has not said it will try the short Pencil again.
But getting the iPad Pencils to work on the iPhone Duo isn’t as simple as hitting a button to enable support. Apple has to roll out new software to make them compatible and run loads of internal tests. That process is now underway within Apple, with the company believing that support will be ready by the end of the year. I would take that literally: It will be fairly late in 2026.
Mark Gurman, Power On newsletter
The hinge is already the hardest piece of the Duo. It uses more than 100 parts, holds the inner panel flat when open, and closes on a magnet array, Apple said when it unveiled the phone on September 9. Clipping a charging stylus to that edge was a second job for a part that already has to survive folds, antennas, and a tight inner panel. Apple is also working around a limited Samsung display supply for the foldable on that same inner screen, which is not a small manufacturing problem to stack a new accessory on top of.
What Ships Instead Is a 155 mm iPad Stylus
The replacement is not a new iPhone pen. It is the Apple Pencil (USB-C), introduced in 2023 as the cheapest model in the lineup at $79, $50 below the $129 Apple Pencil Pro. Apple’s own spec sheet still lists it as an iPad accessory. It 6.10 inches (155 mm) long, 8.9 mm across, and 20.5 grams, and it pairs and charges through a USB-C cable under a sliding cap.
On iPad it magnetically attaches to the side for storage. The Duo has no matching strip in Apple’s materials, so the pen that will eventually talk to this phone is the one that lives in a bag or an iPad folio, not on the phone. Closed, Apple says the Duo is similar in size to a passport and fits in a pocket. A 155 mm stylus is a full iPad pen next to that.
USB-C PENCIL VERSUS PENCIL PRO ON DUO
| Feature | Apple Pencil (USB-C) | Apple Pencil Pro |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $79 | $129 |
| iPhone Duo | Later this year | Not listed |
| Pressure sensitivity | No | Yes |
| Double tap, squeeze, haptics, Find My | No | Yes |
| Pair and charge | USB-C cable | Magnetic on supported iPads |
| Length | 155 mm | Not stated for Duo use |
Apple named the USB-C model because it does not need a magnetic charging rail on the phone. That is also why Pencil Pro is out. The Pro pairs and charges on the side of supported iPads; the Duo was never set up as that kind of host, and Apple’s Duo pages do not list it.
Anyone who already bought a Pencil Pro for an iPad still needs the $79 USB-C stick for this phone. The Duo does not inherit the expensive pen. It inherits the cheap one, and only after software lands.
October 23 Arrives With No Stylus at All
Apple’s product page is blunt. Asked if iPhone Duo works with Apple Pencil or a stylus, it says yes, Apple Pencil (USB-C), coming later this year. The spec sheet lists that support under the displays, but the feature is not on at launch. Gurman said the Duo was not designed around the USB-C Pencil in the first place, which is why the software work and the internal test cycle are happening now.
Pre-orders open at 5:00 a.m. PT on Friday, October 16. The phone is due in more than 70 countries on Friday, October 23, 44 days after the September 9 unveil, with 28 more countries on October 30. Day-one buyers who want to write on the inner canvas will use a finger.
FROM PROTOTYPE TO A SOFTWARE PEN
- Late August 2026: Gurman writes that Apple internally prototyped and tested a shorter Pencil that would attach magnetically to the side of the foldable, and that it was unlikely to launch with the phone.
- September 9, 2026: Apple unveils iPhone Duo and says Pencil with USB-C is coming later this year on either display. Gurman had already said the phone would have support for the Apple Pencil when it shipped in October.
- September 20, 2026: Gurman reports the short Pencil was scrapped over technical problems ahead of mass production, and that USB-C support should be read as fairly late in 2026.
- October 16, 2026: Pre-orders open at 5:00 a.m. PT.
- October 23, 2026: iPhone Duo goes on sale with no Pencil input.
- Later in 2026: Apple says USB-C Pencil support arrives; Gurman says to take the end-of-year line literally.
The gap is not a missing color or a delayed case. It is the input method Apple used to justify notes, sketches, and document markup on a 7.6-inch inner panel and a 5.4-inch cover. Those sentences are already on the newsroom page. The hardware to make them true is not in the box, and the software is not on the phone.
Samsung Already Quit the Foldable Stylus
Samsung put S Pen input on the Galaxy Z Fold 3 in 2021 and kept it through the Z Fold 6. It never hid an S Pen inside the Fold the way the Galaxy S Ultra hides one. Owners bought a Fold Edition or S Pen Pro and often a bulky case, and the pen worked on the inner screen only.
Samsung then pulled the digitizer layer to make the phones thinner. It confirmed the Galaxy Z Fold 7 does not support the S Pen. The Z Fold 8 and Z Fold 8 Ultra, unveiled in London on July 22, 2026, kept that choice. The Fold 8’s inner panel is a 7.6-inch 4:3 canvas that would have been a natural S Pen surface, and Samsung still left the digitizer out.
That is why some launch write-ups treated Apple Pencil on Duo as a clean win. The win is a sentence on a website. Samsung’s current Folds have no stylus at all; Apple’s foldable will have one after an update, on both screens, using the $79 USB-C pen. Until that update, a Duo owner and a Z Fold 8 owner are in the same place when they want to write: they cannot.
Thinness is the shared constraint. Samsung dropped the digitizer. Apple tried to hang a short Pencil on the hinge, then dropped that too rather than slip the phone. The stylus is the feature both companies keep trading away when the chassis gets difficult.
Pairing Still Needs a USB-C Cable
When the software does arrive, the pen Apple will allow is the one with the fewest sensors. Pixel-level precision, low latency, and tilt are in. Pressure is not. Hover is listed for certain iPads and is not specified for Duo. The sliding cap hides the USB-C port used for the first pairing and for charging, so a cable is part of daily life in a way Pencil Pro owners on iPad never deal with.
WHAT THE USB-C PENCIL DOES NOT BRING
- Pressure: The $79 pen does not change line weight with a harder press, so sketching on the 7.6-inch panel is tilt and speed only.
- Gestures: There is no double tap to switch tools, no squeeze, and no haptic click in the barrel.
- Find My: Lose the pen in a bag and Apple’s network will not help you, because this model has no Find My hardware.
- On-phone parking: Magnetic attach is specified for iPad storage, not for the Duo, so the stylus does not ride on the hinge the cancelled pen was meant to occupy.
- Day-one use: Until the update, none of the above matters, because the phone will not take a Pencil at all.
Apple’s Pencil spec page still names iPad models only and still lists iPadOS 17.1.1 as the system requirement. That is the paperwork version of Gurman’s point. Turning an iPad stylus on for iPhone is a software project, not a toggle, and the public spec has not caught up to the newsroom line.
Apple Still Says Both Screens Will Work
The official promise is specific. Later this year, iPhone Duo will support Apple Pencil with USB-C, Apple said, so people can take notes, sketch, or mark up documents on either display. Marques Brownlee put the same claim in one line on September 9: Apple Pencil later this year will work on either display.
Both screens share the same aspect ratio, Apple said, so content scales when the book opens. The outer 5.4-inch Super Retina XDR panel is 90 percent of the screen area of iPhone 18 Pro. The inner 7.6-inch panel is 50 percent larger than iPhone 18 Pro Max, with a nano-texture finish that cuts glare and is meant to hide the crease. Peak outdoor brightness is 3000 nits. Those are the surfaces a USB-C Pencil is supposed to write on, cover included, which is one place Apple is promising more than Samsung’s old Fold S Pen, which stayed on the inner panel.
John Ternus, Apple’s CEO, called Duo the most transformational change to iPhone since the original and talked about staying productive on the largest display that still fits in a pocket. Productivity on a 7.6-inch canvas, without a pen, is split-view apps, a side-shifted Dock, and a finger. The markup Apple advertised is the part that waits on the test cycle Gurman described.
Colors are star white and night sky, in grade 5 titanium, with Touch ID in the side button instead of Face ID so unlock works open or closed. The chip is A20 Pro, the same class as iPhone 18 Pro, with a vapor chamber and a dual-battery pack. None of that substitutes for a stylus on launch day. It does explain why Apple would not hold the phone for a short Pencil that missed mass production.
Buyers Get a Canvas Before They Get a Pen
iPhone Duo starts at $1,999. The only Pencil it will take is another $79, and that $79 does not work until Apple finishes software it has not dated beyond later this year. Gurman’s reading of that phrase is fairly late in 2026, which could leave a gap of weeks after October 23 or a gap that runs toward December.
THE OUTLAY FOR A WORKING STYLUS
- The phone: From $1,999, pre-order October 16, in stores October 23.
- The pen: $79 Apple Pencil (USB-C), 155 mm, cable paired, no pressure.
- The wait: Apple says later this year; Gurman says late 2026.
- The miss: A shorter hinge Pencil that never reached mass production.
A cancelled short Pencil is easy to file as an accessory footnote. The second effect is sitting in the launch calendar. Apple will sell a passport-sized foldable with its largest iPhone canvas on October 23, and the pen that was supposed to travel with that canvas is gone, while the pen that remains is an iPad leftover that still needs a software patch to wake up.
-
AUTO2 months agoVolkswagen Sells the Osnabruck Plant to Clear a Board Fight
-
NEWS2 months agoApple’s Foldable iPhone Hinges on Samsung Display Supply
-
AUTO2 months agoTata Motors’ Iveco Tender Opens as Holders Still Decide
-
BUSINESS2 months agoSaksham Gaur Finds He Is His Own Company’s Client
-
GAMING2 months agoOnimusha Way of the Sword Preload Hits a Windows 11 Wall
-
BUSINESS2 months agoHyderabad 22-Carat Gold Jumps After a False Bargain
-
ENTERTAINMENT3 years agoWhat is SD on Amazon Prime? – All You Need to Know
-
NEWS2 months agoiQOO 16 Locks 8,400 mAh While 100W Charging Holds
